Skip navigation

Well, folks, it’s been one of those months – the calm before the storm, and Allison and I are gathering our umbrellas and installing our storm shutters. Rehearsals for Macbeth begin in about three weeks, whether we like it or not. Fortunately we LOVE rehearsals, but the interim period means lots of producing – and when I say producing, I mean searching for spaces, negotiating agreements, hiring, soliciting investments, etc. In the next few weeks, we will inevitably go through moments of panic and regret and “why do we do this again?” and we will snap each other out of it, and break through our blocks, and everything will come together in a way that feels right to both of us. It always does. At the end of the day, we produce in order to rehearse – although…

…you know what? I set out to write this post to share this feeling of dare-I-say-emptiness that happens during the period between coming up with an idea for a project, and actually getting to execute it. But as I’m writing it, I’m discovering the value of this in-between time. Producing isn’t just a means to an end, it’s all a part of the end. It may not be tons of fun, but it is definitely necessary and fulfilling. This is the time when Allison and I come together as partners and really challenge ourselves, each other, and our partnership. It’s a time when we are forced to reflect, recharge, and redirect our energies toward what matters, to make sure we’re on the right path. 

So I guess this producing period is indeed like the calm before a storm, but we are the storm.

– Brooke

One Comment

  1. Wow this is beautiful! Well done.


Leave a comment